Learning to Live Healthy

Most of us know what to do to live a healthy life; we just don't want to do it. We'll help you with quick tips, healthy recipes, easy exercises and suggestions to help you have the body – and the HEALTH – that you want!

9 Inspirational Lessons from Steve Jobs

Leave a comment

steve-jobs-infographicHeader

1. Follow Your Heart
“Almost everything–all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure–these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.”
As I’ve grown older, and specifically in the last few years, I’ve realized how important it is to check things off that bucket list, to take chances in my career, to make changes in my life that will bring happiness. Life is too short, and we never know what tomorrow will bring. I have had a blessed life; and am truly thankful.

2. Trust Yourself
“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”
Of course I’ve made mistakes in my life, but they have all led me to where I am now…and I wouldn’t change a thing. Taking a risk and shaking things up may be hard; but it is the only way we grow. Failure isn’t failure if there is a lesson learned.

3. Love What You Do
Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.
I was blessed to work for a great organization for many years, and I loved what I did. When I stopped loving it, I knew it was time to move on. Now I once again love what I do, and appreciate the growth and challenge that new opportunity brings. It saddens me that so many people I know hate what they do. They hate going to work every day. They feel trapped. That’s no way to live – we are the only ones who can change our destiny. Make it happen!

4. Go For a Home Run
Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected. One home run is much better than two doubles.
I am a firm believer of doing your best work all the time. Why would you give anything than your best? Whatever you do, do it to the best of your ability…and then some.

5. Pick Carefully
People think focus means saying yes to the thing you’ve got to focus on. It means saying no to the hundred other good ideas that there are. You have to pick carefully.
This is a struggle for me – being all things to all people and never wanting to say “no”. But this pulls your focus away from what is truly important. Trying to do all those smaller things first in order to clear your plate for the larger project NEVERworks. Say “no”… or “not right now” to those things that are not truly a priority and give your attention to those priorities first.

6. Work Hard to Make it Simple
“Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works. Simple can be harder than complex. You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple.
I love this one because it’s what my company does, in a way. We help companies implement best practices in a specific area of their business. Likewise, life can be a compilation of best practices. Whether it’s your route to work, how you do the laundry, how you relate to your significant other or how you do your job more efficiently…even the most complex can be simplified to be repeatable. Remember learning “KISS” in school? Keep It Simple, Stupid!

7. Steal Great Ideas
We have always been shameless about stealing great ideas.
I don’t consider myself extremely creative, but I can take an idea, action, project, etc. and make it better. I can improve on it. And I can make it my own…like this post. 🙂

8. Your Goal Isn’t To Make Money
Apple’s goal isn’t to make money. Our goal is to design and develop and bring to market good products. We trust as a consequence of that, people will like them, and as another consequence, we’ll make some money.
I absolutely love this one, because I truly believe it. Money is just a means; in business and in life. My goal in business is to bring something of value that will be appreciated and utilized. My goal in life? Same thing. Chasing the almighty dollar will just get you one thing…tired.

9. Don’t Lose Faith
Sometimes life hits you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith.
Easier said than done…right? I prefer to look at the glass as half-full, no matter what life brings my way. Because really…where does losing faith get you? How does it benefit you? There’s ALWAYS a bright side…you just may not see it in the moment. Find it.

Check out the great infographic from HowToMakeMyBlog.com

Author: OrderSkinnyWraps.com

We are passionate about health and wellness, and love helping others make changes to lead a healthier life. We refuse to give up pizza, and can help you make healthy life choices that you can live with!

Leave a Reply

